Category: Western Africa

The UN definition of Western Africa includes the following 16 countries: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, and Togo.
  • Gambia: A Draft of a Constitution for the Second Republic of the Gambia
    • The constitution of the Republic of the Gambia. The Constitution provides a fundamental law, which affirms the country's commitment to freedom, justice, probity and accountability. Article 31 address the rights of people with disabilities.
  • Ghana: The Disabled Persons Act 1993
    • This is an act to provide for the rights of people with disabilities in Ghana in accordance with Article 29 of the Constitution and to establish a National Council on Disabled Persons to attend to the interests of people with disabilities.
  • Mauritius: Training and Employment of Disabled Persons Act, 1996
    • This law enforced the establishment of a board to oversee the training and employment of people with disabilities in the country of Mauritius.
  • Nigeria: Nigerians with Disability Decree 1993
    • The purpose of this decree is to provide a clear and comprehensive legal protection and security for Nigerians with disabilities as well as establish standards for enforcing of the rights and priviledges guaranteed under this decree and other laws applicable to people with disabilities in the Federal Republic of Nigeria