Category: Southern Africa

In the UN scheme of geographic regions, five countries constitute Southern Africa: Botswana, Lesotho, Namibia, South Africa, and Swaziland.
  • Namibia 2 - National Vocational Training Act, no. 18, 1994
    • An act to create regulations for the training of apprentices and vocational trainees; to provide for the establishment, powers and functions of a Vocational Training Board and trade advisory committees related to people with disabilities.
  • Namibia: Labour Act 1992 - extracts
    • A brief exerpt of the law that prohibits discrimination of disadvantaged people in the Republic of Namibia.
  • South Africa: Constitution - Bill of Rights (1996)
    • The full text of the Constitution of South Africa. Section 9 prohibits discrimination against disability.
  • South Africa: Employment Equity Bill (B60-98)
    • This law supported the elimination of unfair discrimination in employment to ensure the implementation of employment equity to redress the effects of discrimination and to achieve a diverse workforce broadly representative all the South Africa people.
  • South Africa-Mental Health Care Act, 2002
    • The purpose of this law was to provide for the care, treatment, and rehabilitation of people who are mentally ill; to set out different procedures to be followed in the admission of such people; to establish Review Boards in respect of every health establishment; to determine their powers and functions; and to provide for the care and administration of the property of mentally ill people. PDF format.